GED Tests

Main Content

GED1 Tests


GED (General Educational Development) Tests are an option for adults who never received a high school diploma. GED Tests cover four subject areas:

  • Reasoning through Language Arts
  • Mathematical Reasoning
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Most test questions are multiple choice, although the writing test includes an essay. It will take you more than 7 hours to complete all five GED Tests.

You must pass tests in all five subject areas in order to earn your GED, which is considered to be equivalent to a high school diploma. You will need a GED or high school diploma if you are interested in pursuing education beyond high school.

Getting Ready

Check for GED study materials at your local library or bookstore. You can also access many resources online:

Think you're ready for the real thing?

Locate a GED testing center near you to register for the test. Testing costs vary by state and cost $30 per test or a total of $120 for all four tests.

Scores to Aim For

To earn your GED your passing score will need to be 145. There are also two optional score levels: GED College Ready with scores ranging from 165-174 and GED College Ready + Credit with scores ranging from 175-200.

Learn More

What if you want a higher score or don't pass one of the subject area tests?

  • If you want a higher score, you can take one or more of the four tests again. You can combine your best score on each subject area test to improve your total score.
  • If you don't pass, you are allowed to take each subject area test up to three times in 1 year. Depending on where you live, however, you may need to meet additional requirements before you can do this. For example, you may first need to participate in a test prep class at an adult learning center and provide a certificate of completion.

Want to Know More?

1GED is a registered trademark of the American Council on Education.